Home > News > Sports India News

Siddharth Vishwakarma, Eeshita Pandey in quarter-finals of ACC Cup Tennis

Posted on Nov 13, 09:47PM | UNI

Siddharth Vishwakarma and Eeshita Pandey, both of Uttar Pradesh continued their winning spree in the 1st ACC Cup Men's and Women's Open One Lakh Rupees Prize Money Tennis Championship-2012 at the BBDUP Badminton Academy Sports development Society Synthetic Tennis Court here today.

Siddharth, who also made it to the quarterfinals of the men's singles earlier in the day, was ruthless to seventh seed Vijay Bhardwaj from Haryana while scripting 6-0,6-1 win at court No 1. But, it was top seed Chandril Sood form UP's who beat state mate player Saneesh M. Mishra by 6-3, 6-1 in a thrilling pre-quarterfinal encounter.

Third seed UP's Lakshit Sood winning the game beat Sanjib Kerketta form west Bengal by 6-3, 6-3. In another exciting encounter of the day, sixth seeded B.Sai Saran Reddy from Andra Pradesh beat Karnataka's Vishnu Jinna by 6-4, 6-4.

Vilasier Khate of National Tennis Academy outplayed second seed Brahmjot Singh of Delhi 7-6(7-1), 3-6, 7-6(7-4).

Upsets also marked the women's singles pre-quarters as seventh seed Tulina Nan from West Bengal beaten by UP's Eeshita Pandey 6-2,6-0. Second seed Damini Sharma of UP's beat state mate Shivana Zadi 6-0, 6-1. In another interesting battle in the category, UP's Shubhi Dwivedi beat home state and eight seed player Om Lata Rai 6-2,6-2.

RESULTS Men's singles: Pre-Quarters final Results Chandril Sood (Up) bt Saneesh M. Mishra (Up) 6-3, 6-1 Siddharth Vishwakarma (UP) bt Gaurav Bhatia (Dli) 3-6, 6-3, 7-6(7-3) Sagar Manjanna (Kar) (Seed4) bt Gagan Sharma (Raj) 6-2, 6-2 B Sai Saran Reddy (Ap) (Seed6) bt Vishnu Jinna (Kar) 6-4, 6-4 A.Borthakur (Asm) bt Dhruv Goyal ( Dli)6-3,6-4 Lakshit Sood (Up) (Seed3) bt Sanjib Kerketta (Wb) 6-3, 6-3 Bharat Bhardwaj (Iaf) bt Sunny Dahiya (Hr)(Seed8)6-3,6-4 Vilasier Khate (Nta) bt Brahmjot Singh (Dli) (Seed2) 7-6(7-1), 3-6, 7-6(7-4) Women's singles: Pre-Quarters final Results Eeshita Pandey(Up) bt Tulina Nan (Wb)(Seed7)6-2,6-0 Damini Sharma (Up) (Seed2) bt Shivana Zadi (Up)6-0,6-1 Shubhi Dwivedi (Up) bt Om Lata Rai (Up)(Seed 8)6-2,6-2 Shreya Pasricha (Up) (Seed1) bt Shehnaz Singh (Dli)4-6,6-0,6-1 Surya Tejaswini (Ap) (Seed6) bt Priti Dhandurge (Mha)7-6,6-3 Amla Amol Warvick (Kar) (Seed5) bt Disha Satish Agarwal (Dli) 6-3, 6-4 Sanya Madan (Up) (Seed4) bt Bhumika Sharma (Raj) 6-2, 6-2 Sayali Bhilare (Mha)(Seed3)bt Nishtha Dudeja (Dli) 6-1,6-0