Home > News > Gujarat News

Gujarat HC gets four new judges

Posted on Nov 12, 09:09PM | UNI

Four new judges today took oath of their office as additional judges of the Gujarat High Court here.

The Supreme Court had recently appointed four new judges to the High Court, including Justices S G Shah, G R Udhwani, S H Vora and R D Kothari. With this, current strength of judges in the Gujrat High Court has climbed to 32 against the sanctioned posts of 42.

Chief Justice Bhaskar Bhattacharya administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly appointed judges in a ceremony held here in the committee room of the High Court, where some sitting judges, close relatives of newly appointed judges, senior counsels and members of administrative wing were present.

Justice S G Shah was holding the post of one of the registrars in the Supreme Court, while G R Udhwani was Registrar General in Gujarat High Court, S H Vora was Principal and District Judge at City Civil and Sessions Court in Ahmedabad and R D Kothari was Principal and District Judge in Nadiad.

Those who were present at the ceremony included Law Minister Dilip Sanghani, Minister of State for Law Pradipsinh Jadeja, Advocate General Kamal Trivedi and Additional Advocate General Tushar Mehta.