Home > News > Sports India News

Indian Oil retain 117th Beighton Cup

Posted on Nov 11, 06:12PM | IBNS

Star studded Indian Oil Corporation retained Sahara India 117th Beighton Cup hockey championship with a scintillating stick-work defeating Punjab National Bank 5-2 in the final at SAI's astro turf complex in Salt Lake here Sunday.

This was OIC's third triumph in four finals they played since 2009.

The Oilmen led 2-0 in first-half with goals from Gurjinder Singh from penalty corner inside twelve minutes while Bikash Sharma made it double for the high-profile side hitting the board with a reverse stick in the 31st minute.

Resumption of the second half saw the bankmen ran down the flank and reduced the margin with a field goal from Jalwinder Singh within (2-1).

But before the bankmen regroup for another onslaught, Oilmen took control over the proceeding and increased the tally in the 38th minute with fine goal from Roshan Minz (3-1), who doubled his score in the 59th minute and 4-1 for IOC.

PNB, who have been playing this world's oldest hockey tournament for the second time after making in the semis in 2011, tried to return to the game and again reduce the gap with a penalty corner goal from Lukwinder Singh in the 68th minute.

But the Oilmen playing the finals for four-year in a row since their debut in 2009 blasted one more salvo in the dying second from ex-Olympian Deepak Thakur, whose total goal tally in the competition was highest with eight goals, including a hat-trick..

IOC in their rank have four Olympians and as many India-Internationals.

Earlier the players were introduced to state tourism minister Rachpal Singh, field hockey Olympian Keshav Dutt, former India football captain Chuni Goswamy and Bengal Hockey Association president Gautam Mohan Chabraborty.