Home > News > Karnataka News

Dhananjaya Kumar appointed as KJP President

Posted on Nov 09, 08:58PM | UNI

Adding a new twist to the ongoing power struggle in the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), close followers of former Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa today took over the leadership of Karnataka Janata Paksha (KJP) as a precursor to their leader taking over the mantle of the party next month.

Instead of floating a new political party, Mr Yeddyurappa chose to associate with the existing KJP, which was formed in 2011 and registered with the election commission as a regional party from the state.

BJP veteran and former Union Minister V Dhananjaykumar who was shown the doors of the party for his 'anti party activities' was unanimously elected the President of the Party with another close follower of Mr Yeddyurappa, M D Lakshminarayana, an independent member of the Karnataka Legislative Council, named as the General Secretary at the General Council meeting of KJP held this morning.

The founder President of KJP, Mr Prasannakumar voluntarily stepped down at the meeting paving way for the Yeddyurappa group to take control of the party.

Later talking to newspersons, Mr Dhananjay Kumar announced the new office bearers of the Party and said there was a vacuum in the state politics for a vibrant regional party, which alone could safeguard the interests of the state people and KJP would fulfill the aspirations of the people.