Home > News > Karnataka News

Dhananjaya Kumar appointed as KJP President

Posted on Nov 09, 08:57PM | UNI

Mr Dhananjaya Kumar, former Union Minister and close follower of Mr B S Yeddyurappa, former Karnataka Chief Minister, was appointed as the newly-formed Karnataka Janata Party (KJP) President here today.

After a meeting of his close followers, Mr Yeddyurappa appointed M D Lakshminarayana as his new party General Secretary, Manjunatha Gowda, K H Srinivas as Vice President, Senior Vice- President, Shakuntala and Padmanabha Prasanna as Working Committee members.

Mr Kumar was recently removed from the post of Karnataka Special Representative in New Delhi and was also suspended from the BJP primary membership for his outburst against Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar during agitation over release of water from the river Cauvery to Tamil Nadu.

Earlier, Mr Prasanna Kumar, who was KJP President, resigned to the post to pave way for Mr Dhananjaya Kumar.

Mr Yeddyurappa, who has continued war against the ruling BJP in the State for the humiliation meted out to him by the party Central and State leaders, will formally take over as KJP President after formally launching the party at Haveri in a rally on December 9.

The date for launching the new party was advanced by one day to December 9 as the ruling party had announced a 10 day Legislative Session at Belgaum from December 5 to 13 to prevent Ministers and Legislators from attending the new party launch earlier scheduled for December 10.

Mr Yeddyurappa had announced yesterday that the BJP government in power is a coalition government and KJP not interested to pull down the Jagadish Shettar Ministry since he was elected by him. "I dont want to pull down the government despite humiliation continuing from the Party, but it was left to Mr Shettar to safeguard his Chair," he said.