Challenger Sprints National Rowing Championships culminates in Kolkata

3 years ago | 08-06-2014 | IBNS

Kolkata, June 7 : The 17th Sub-Junior and 18th Challenger Sprints National Rowing Championships 2014 organised by Rowing Federation of India and West Bengal Rowing Association at The Lake Club concluded on Saturday.

This year, the Championship has received participation from over 400 young rowers from 17 states with entries coming from Andaman, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Uttarakhand, Chandigarh, Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, and Corps of Engineers apart from host state West Bengal.

There were two different categories for both Boys and Girls. The Sub-Junior category consisted of Under-15 and Under-13 rowers and the Challenger was an open age category for rowers who have not won medals at the Open Nationals or at the Challenger Nationals.

The rowers contested on the Rabindra Sarobar lake waters for the coveted Gold, Silver, and Bronze titles during the four-day competition.

West Bengal Sports Minister Madan Mitra felicitated the winners. P

Firhad Hakim, Minister for Municipal Affairs and Urban Development; Rajesh Pandey, Secretary, Sports, Government of West Bengal; Brigadier KP Singh Deo, Chairman Emeritus, Rowing Federation of India; Rajlakshmi Singh Deo, President, Rowing Federation of India; Colonel CP Singh Deo, Vice-President, Asian Rowing Federation; and M. V. Sriram, Secretary-General, Rowing Federation of India.

Commenting on the regatta, M. V. Sriram, Secretary-General, Rowing Federation of India said, "As we conclude yet another successful year of Sub-Junior and Challenger Sprints National Rowing Championships, I wish to thank all our young participants and the organising team who have worked relentlessly 24x7 to make it a success. The zeal of the young rowers motivates us in hosting the event with added grandeur every year. I am sure that all of us at Rowing Federation of India and also the participants across the country are eagerly awaiting the next Championship when we will again hit the waters with our oars."

The principal sponsor for the championship is Tata Steel.