Karnataka Bulldozers win CCL trophy

3 years ago | 24-02-2014 | IBNS

By Hashir Mohammed Khaled, Kolkata, Feb 24 : After a month of high voltage fun-frolic and nail biting finishes, the fourth edition of the Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) finally concluded on Sunday, with Karnataka Bulldozers beating Kerala Strikers by 36 runs at the Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Hyderabad.

After defeating the Kerala Strikers, the Karnataka Bulldozers won two CCL on the trot and henceforth retained the trophy all over again.

Karnataka Bulldozers are the only team who had made it to the Final of all four editions of Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) by winning two titles.

In the group stage, electrifying Karnataka Bulldozers won two of their encounters and drew one against Chennai Rhinos, while Kerala Strikers clinched two wins, while one match against the Bengal Tigers was abandoned.

In the first semi final, Kerala Strikers defeated Bhojpuri Dabanggs by 8 wickets.

Batting first, the Bhojpuri Dabanggs scored 128/9 in 20 overs, while Kerala Strikers easily managed to chase down the target with 9 balls to spare making 129/2.

While in the second semi final, lackluster Mumbai Heroes succumbed to Karnataka Bulldozer's bowling where actor Sunil Shetty's Mumbai Heroes eventually lost by 79 runs.

Batting first, Karnataka Bulldozers scored 184/6 in 20 overs while sloppy Mumbai Heroes just managed to score 105 all out in 18.1 overs.

Now in the Battle of Supremacy, Karnataka Bulldozers whipped Kerala Strikers by 36 runs.

Winning the toss, Kerala Strikers opted to field, where the charged Karnataka Bulldozer scored 211 of 2 wickets in 20 overs.

Vivacious and eruptive Rajeev 112 not out in just 42 balls (11 fours and 5 sixes) being the highest run scorer followed by his team mate Dhruv Sharma's 56 not out runs contribution.

Replying to Karnataka Bulldozer's, the Kerala Strikers could only manage to score only 175/7 in 20 overs with A.Nandakumar being the top scorer of Kerala team.

A. Nandakumar scored 78 runs in 48 balls with 8 boundaries and 4 sixes before being a victim as he was clean bowled by Dhruv Sharma in 18.2 over.

Dhruv Sharma's 3 wickets for 22 runs in 4 over along with Pradeep 3 wicket haul for 29 runs in 4 overs, including one maiden was the highest wicket taker for Karnataka Bulldozers.

Flamboyant Rajeev, for his superb gigantic knock of 112 not out in just 42 deliveries, was adjudged the Man Of The Match.

Dhruv Sharma of Karnataka Bulldozer was the highest scorer (210 runs in 6 matches) and was embraced with the Man of The Tournament Award.

Like the Indian Premier League (IPL), Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) is a shortest format of cricket matches played in just 20 overs.

In CCL, celebrities of various Indian Filmy backgrounds divided into 8 teams get an opportunity to indulge and keep them relaxed from their work pressure and gruelling schedule.

CCL was launched in the year 2011 and matches are usually played on weekends.