Sunday, 07 Jun 2020

Pakatan Harapan wins Malayasia elections, Mahathir to be new PM

Kuala Lumpur [Malaysia], May 10 : Pakatan Harapan chairperson and Malaysia's former premier Mahathir Mohamad is all set to be sworn-in as the seventh Prime Minister of Malaysia today.

This comes after Malaysia's ruling party Barisan Nasional led by Prime Minister Najib Razak lost the general election to the Opposition alliance for the first time in 61 years.

Breaking Barisan Nasional's 61-year grip on Malaysia, Pakatan Harapan won 112 parliament seats needed for a simple majority to form the country's next government, according to Malaysian news reports.

All 222 parliamentary seats were contested, along with 505 state seats in the Wednesday's general elections . Nearly 14.5 million Malaysians were eligible to vote at the country's 8,253 polling stations, as per Malaysia media reports.

(ANI | 2 years ago)