Kolkata, Feb 7 IBNS | 2 years ago

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Friday congratulated her Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidates, including veteran Bollywood actor Mithun Chakraborty, for being elected in the Rajya Sabha.

"Today, all 4 All India Trinamool Congress candidates - Mithun Chakraborty, Jogen Chowdhury, K D Singh and Ahmed Hassan, won the Rajya Sabha elections from West Bengal.I congratulate all of them. We are proud of them," Banerjee said in her Facebook post.

"Once again, it is a victory of Maa, Maati, Manush. We salute them and rededicate ourselves to work for the interests of the people," she said.

West Bengal went to poll for the five Rajya Sabha seats on Friday.

The terms for five existing MPs end on Apr 2.

Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) candidate Ritabrata Banerjee was also elected to the upper house of the Indian Parliament.

(Posted on 07-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries