Shimla, Sep 2 IANS | 2 months ago

The opposition BJP in Himachal Pradesh Tuesday sought disqualification of four independent legislators from the assembly for describing themselves as associate members of the Congress.

"We gave a petition to Speaker B.B.L. Butail demanding suspension of four independent MLAs -- Manohar Dhiman, Pawan Kajal, Kirnesh Jang and Balbir Verma," BJP chief whip Suresh Bhardwaj told reporters here.

He said the public had given them mandate as independent members but now they had joined the Congress party.

Assembly officials said the speaker has not taken any call so far on the complaint.

The four legislators had issued a statement last month in favour of Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and described themselves as associate members of the Congress, Bhardwaj said.

"Even the chief minister thinks of them as members of the Congress. During the Lok Sabha elections, they were canvassing for the Congress party," he added.

"Any conspiracy to destabilise the state government will not be allowed," the four legislators had said in a statement issued to the media here Aug 8, when the monsoon session of the assembly was in progress which the BJP was boycotting.

They said the BJP was expecting them to boycott the assembly proceedings.

"We are accountable to the people who had elected us for raising issues concerning them in the assembly," they said.

The chief minister had justified their support to the government.

"They are independent MLAs who are supporting our government. So what is wrong in that," he had told reporters.

(Posted on 02-09-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |