New Delhi, Sep 2 IANS | 2 months ago

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has issued the revised and final guidelines for raising non-equity regulatory capital instruments by banks required by the Basel-III norms, under which lenders can issue tier-2 capital with a minimum original maturity of five years as against 10 years.

"Banks can also issue tier-II capital instruments with a minimum maturity of at least five years compared to 10 years at present," RBI said in a notification late on Monday.

According to RBI, banks can issue tier-2 debt capital instruments to retail investors, subject to board approval.

"Banks may now issue additional tier-1 capital instrument with the principal loss absorption through either conversion into common shares or write-down mechanism (temporary or permanent) which allocates losses to the instruments," the notification said.

RBI, however, said the terms and conditions of all non-equity capital instruments issued by banks must have a provision requiring such instruments to either be permanently written off or converted into common shares on the occurrence of the "point of non-viability (PONV)" trigger event.

The new norms have been made applicable with immediate effect.

Presenting his maiden annual budget in July, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley had said that the capital of state-run banks will be raised through sale of shares to the public.

The measure is to meet India's obligations under the Basel banking accord signed by 27 nations on capital adequacy norms to ensure that financial institutions have enough capital on account to meet obligations and absorb unexpected losses.

Upwards of Rs.240,000 crore of capital by equity is required to be infused into India's banking sector by 2018.

(Posted on 02-09-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |