London, Sep 01 ANI | 1 year ago

England has named uncapped county cricket club Surrey batsman Jason Roy in their 14-man squad for their Twenty20 international against India at Edgbaston that will be held on September 7.

Roy had been the leading T20 Blast run-scorer with 677 at an average of 48.35 and a strike rate of almost 160. But he needed an X-ray to show that his right thumb was not broken batting against New Zealand A on Sunday.

All-rounder Ravi Bopara, seamer Tim Bresnan and batsman James Taylor have also been called up, The BBC reported.

Bopara and Bresnan have been limited-overs regulars for England in recent years, but were left out of the ODI squad currently facing India.

Uncapped in T20 internationals, Nottinghamshire's Taylor has played in two ODIs, both against Ireland, and in two Tests against South Africa in 2012, but has not featured in an England squad for a year.

However, he will not join up with the squad if Notts' One-Day Cup semi-final on Saturday 6 September is affected by the weather and goes into Sunday's reserve day.

Eoin Morgan will lead the side in the absence of T20 captain Stuart Broad, who will have surgery on his right knee this week, but there is no place for batsmen Ian Bell or Michael Carberry who played in England's last T20 game against Sri Lanka in May.

India has named the same squad that is currently on duty in the one-day series.

The England T20 squad is: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Joe Root, Jason Roy, James Taylor, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes.

The India T20 squad is: Mahendra Dhoni (captain), Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Umesh Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Sanju Samson, Karn Sharma.

(Posted on 01-09-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries