London, Sep 01 ANI | 2 months ago

Activists and democratic groups in Hong Kong have pledged to oppose a Chinese government ruling that gives it full control over the selection of candidates for the next leadership election.

The election which is scheduled to take place in 2017 will be the first election in Honk Kong in which voters will directly elect the Chief Executive, reported the BBC.

However, China's legislature ruled recently that the candidates who contest the elections must be approved by more than half of a special nominating body. A framework for the formation of the body has also been set and it would be "in accordance with" the existing 1,200-strong Election Committee, a body that is popularly seen as dominated by pro-Beijing groups.

Democracy activists have decided to take over the Central business district in order to protest against the ruling.

Benny Tai Yiu-ting, co-founder of the Occupy Central protest group, declared that the ruling has marked the end of any dialogue.

Labour Party legislator, Lee Cheuk-yan, also said that there would be a "full-scale fight" against the government's decision.

Democratic Party chairwoman, Emily Lau Wai-hing, was quoted as saying that the ruling has robbed the voters of choices. She added that while North Korea does follow this tradition but it cannot be called a democracy.

The government's decision was accepted unopposed in Beijing by the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress (NPC) on Sunday, the report added.

(Posted on 01-09-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |