Kolkata, Feb 7 IANS | 2 years ago

Veteran Bollywood actor Mithun Chakraborty and celebrated painter Jogen Chowdhury were Friday elected Rajya Sabha members on a Trinamool Congress ticket from West Bengal.

Former MP K.D. Singh and journalist Ahmed Hasan Imran were the other two Trinamool candidates elected in the polls to five Rajya Sabha seats from the state.

While the Trinamool won four seats, Communist Party of India-Marxist candidate Ritabrata Banerjee also made it to the upper house of parliament.

Journalist A.S. Malihabadi, who was in fray as an Independent candidate backed by the Congress and the Left Front, lost after five lawmakers cross-voted in favour of Trinamool. Three of them belonged to the LF, and two others to the Congress.

(Posted on 07-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries