Baghdad, Sep 1 IANS | 2 months ago

Iraqi security forces Monday recaptured the town of Sulaiman Beg in Salahudin province after more than two months of being under siege by the Islamic State (IS) Sunni extremist organisation, an official said.

"The town of Sulaiman Beg is under control of the combined forces of Iraqi army, Peshmerga (Kurdish force) and volunteers," the official told Xinhua.

The troops are still clearing the booby-trapped buildings and roadside bombs in the town, located some 90 km east of the provincial capital Tikrit, the official said.

The militants fled the town, with large areas of the province still under the control of the IS.

The recapture of Sulaiman Beg came a day after the combined security forces broke through to the town of Amerli, some 90 km east of Tikrit, as well as several nearby villages after more than two months of being captured by the IS.

The security forces, backed by thousands of Shia militiamen and Kurdish Peshmerga fighters, moved in to the town of Amerli under US and Iraqi air support, and were involved in fierce clashes with the militants.

Salahudin province is a predominantly Sunni province and its capital Tikrit, some 170 km north of Iraq's capital Baghdad, is the hometown of former president Saddam Hussein.

(Posted on 01-09-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |