Kolkata, Sep 1 IANS | 2 months ago

Accusing the All India Football Federation (AIFF) of adopting a "discriminatory attitude" towards I-League, Mohun Bagan Monday said it would demand an increase in the number of foreigners to be at par with the Indian Super League (ISL).

According to I-League rules, the clubs are allowed to register four foreigners. In contrast, the newly launched city-based ISL permits franchises to take on seven foreigners as also a marquee player.

"The AIFF works for the improvement of football in the country. Towards that end, it runs the I-League. Now, for the same reason it has given the go-ahead to the ISL. But it allows us (I-League) clubs to register only four foreigners, Whereas ISL franchisees are allowed eight. Why is this discriminatory attitude towards the I-League?" Mohun Bagan general secretary Anjan Mitra told IANS.

Demanding that the I-League clubs be allowed to register more foreigners, Mitra said: "We will write to the AIFF on the step-motherly attitude towards the I-League."

However, he made it clear that the club "has no problem" with the ISL.

"That's the reason we are releasing our players for the ISL," Mitra said.

(Posted on 01-09-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |