Madrid, Aug 31 IANS | 2 months ago

Nacer Bouhanni won the eighth stage of the Vuelta de Espana (Tour of Spain) cycle race when he took a sprint finish in Albacete.

The Frenchman, who rides for the FDJ team, took his second stage win of the race Saturday to add to his triumph on stage two and this time had the beating of German sprinter John Degenkolb, who had claimed the last two sprint finishes, reports Xinhua.

The 207-km stage between Baeza and Albacete was the last respite for the riders before reaching the high mountains and always looked likely to produce a sprint finish, but what should have been a straightforward ride in the sun was complicated by crosswinds which split the main peloton and led to the formation of echelons, meaning it was vital for the race favourites and their teams to remain focussed to avoid being cut off and lose vital time.

That nearly happened to Nairo Quintana (Movistar) as the winner of the Giro de Italia found himself cut off in the closing kilometres.

However, members of his team and also Giant-Shimano, who were working for Degenkolb, worked hard to bring him back into the main group and prevent a loss of time which would have almost certainly cost him any chance of winning the race.

As things stand the Colombian remains second, behind overall race leader, Alejandro Valverde, with Alberto Contador in third and Chris Froome fourth.

Sunday sees the race head north and the stage ends with a second category climb, followed by a hilltop finish on a first category climb up to Valdelinares on a day which will once again provide a test for the overall race favourites.

(Posted on 31-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |