Hyderabad/Rajahmundry, Aug 28 IANS | 2 months ago

Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan YojanaA (PMJDY), the financial inclusion scheme of the Narendra Modi government, was Thursday launched in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh by Union Urban Development Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu respectively.

Chandrababu Naidu was the first to formally inaugurate the scheme at Rajahmundry in East Godavari district in Andhra Pradesh.

"It is a major step towards poverty eradication," said Naidu, whose Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is a partner in National Democratic Alliance (NDA) central government.

Speaking on the occasion, the TDP chief said the state and central governments could now directly transfer pension and monetary benefits under various schemes to the bank accounts of the beneficiaries.

The chief minister said the scheme would also help in checking corruption in implementation of welfare schemes.

C. V. R. Rajendran, chairman and managing director, Andhra Bank and president of State Level Bankers' Committee (SLBC) of Andhra Pradesh was also present.

Three mega camps were also held at Visakhapatnam, Tirupati and Anantapur for people to open bank accounts.

Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju launched the camp at Visakhapatnam, while Heavy Industries Minister Anant Geete inaugurated the camp at Tirupati.

Venkaiah Naidu launched PMJDY in Hyderabad. Telangana Finance Minister E. Rajender also attended the programme organized by State Bank of Hyderabad as SLBC of Telangana.

(Posted on 28-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |