Monday, February 15 2016

Home > News > India News

Supreme Court rejects pleas seeking stay on Telangana Bill

Posted on Feb 07 2014 | IBNS

New Delhi, Feb 7 : Refusing to restrain Centre's plans to table Telangana Bill in the ongoing session of Parliament, the Supreme Court (SC) on Friday rejected nine petitions filed by Seemandhra leaders seeking a stay on the proposal.

The apex court said it was not the appropriate stage for it to interfere into the matter.

The petitioners sought a stay of tabling of the bill, stating that there was all possibility that the bill will be tabled in Parliament on Feb 10 and if it becomes a law, it will become an irreversible process.

Meanwhile, the issue of creation of separate Telangana state continued to disrupt proceedings of the Parliament as the both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha were adjourned for the day on Friday.

The Telangana issue among others disrupted the proceedings of both the Houses on Friday.

In both the Houses of the Indian Parliament, some members were seen moving to the well and raising pro- and anti-Telangana slogans.

Both the houses witnessed repeated adjournments on Friday.

The United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government led by Congress has assured to introduce the Telangana bill in Parliament with the Prime Minister himself hoping that the Telangana Bill will be passed in its last session before the next general elections.

Once the cabinet clears the Telangana bill, it will be sent for Presidential ascent and then will be debated in Parliament again for a final vote.

The Andhra Pradesh Assembly on Jan 30 rejected the Telangana Bill before being adjourned sine die.

The new state of Telangana is expected to have 10 districts, a population of 35.38 million and an area of 1.14 lakh square km and including Andhra Pradesh capital Hyderabad, which will serve as a common capital for 10 years.

The GoM (Group of Ministers) earlier had submitted its draft on bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and creation of Telangana as the 29th state of India.

India's ruling Congress party in July 2013 approved a move to carve out the Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh, giving in to a five-decade-long demand from supporters in a major decision ahead of 2014 elections.

Officially urging the government to take constitutional steps that will see the state's formation, the Congress Working Committee (CWC) passed a resolution on the same.

The Telangana region, which merged with Andhra Pradesh in 1956 against the wishes of many local residents, comprises 10 districts - Adilabad, Hyderabad, Khammam, Karimnagar, Mahbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Rangareddy, and Warangal.

Latest News: