Thiruvananthapuram, Aug 26 IANS | 2 months ago

Barring the bars in 20 five star hotels, all the others that are currently open will have to shut down Sep 12, a Kerala minister said Tuesday.

Excise Minister K. Babu Tuesday told the media here that there are 730 bars in the state, of which the licenses of 418 have not been renewed this fiscal.

"Of the remaining 312 bars, 20 are in five star hotels and barring these, all others will have to close down Sep 12.

"There was a considered opinion that 15 days notice should be given to these bars and tomorrow (Wednesday) this decision will be ratified by the state cabinet and the notices for closure would be served to the bars on Thursday," said Babu after a high level meeting.

This new direction has come as part of the decision of the state government last Friday which finalised the new liquor policy to achieve prohibition in the next 10 years.

The government Tuesday submitted the new liquor policy to the Kerala High Court, which posted the case for Sep 17.

The new policy also states that only the five-star hotels in the state will serve liquor.

From Oct 2 this year, all Sunday's will be dry days and out of the 383 state-owned retail liquor shops, 10 percent will close down each year.

"It has also been decided to take back the stock of liquor from all the bars and we will be careful from today onwards to give fresh supplies to these bars. Once the bars are closed we will return the portion of the license fee and it will come to around Rs.40 crores," said Babu.

With regard to wine, he said the status quo would be maintained.

"The decision to discontinue beer and wine parlour licenses will be taken up by the state cabinet," said Babu.

(Posted on 26-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |