Basseterre (St. Kitts), Aug 26 IANS | 2 months ago

Denesh Ramdin and Darren Bravo entered the record books with blistering centuries as the West Indies brushed aside Bangladesh by 91 runs to complete a clean sweep of the three match One-Day International series here.

Ramdin roared to 169 while Bravo smashed his way to 124 - a recording breaking double century partnership that powered the West Indies to 338 for seven from 50 overs at Warner Park Monday night, reports CMC.

Half centuries from Tamim Iqbal and captain Mushfiqur Rahim provided small sparks to the Bangladesh run chase but not enough to propel them to the massive target as they stumbled to 247 for eight when the overs ran out.

Ramdin and Bravo boosted the innings in a blazing third wicket stand that yielded 258-runs and transformed the game after the regional side, put in to bat, had lost openers Chris Gayle and Lendl Simmons with just 12 runs on the board.

Their stand was the highest for any wicket in ODIs for the West Indies and beat Hashim Amla and AB de Villiers' 238-run union for the third-wicket against Pakistan comfortably.

Ramdin's effort, highlighted by 11 sixes and eight fours off 121 balls, equalled batting legend Brian Lara for the third-highest individual innings by a West Indian in one-dayers.

Only Sir Viv Richards has higher individual scores - 189 not out against England in Manchester in 1984 and 181 against Sri Lanka at the 1987 World Cup in Karachi.

Bravo was overshadowed by Ramdin's hitting, but unleashed fluent and powerful shots, hammering eight sixes and seven fours off 127 deliveries.

Ravi Rampaul was the pick of the West Indies bowlers in finishing with four for 29.

Ramdin was voted man of the match and man of the series.

Brief Scores:

West Indies: 338 for seven in 50 overs (Denesh Ramdin 169, Darren Bravo 124; Al-Amin Hossain 4-59).

Bangladesh: 247 for eight in 50 overs (Mushfiqur Rahim 72, Tamim Iqbal 55; Ravi Rampaul 4-29).

(Posted on 26-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |