New Delhi, Aug 25 IANS | 2 months ago

The Congress Monday said the by-election results in four states were a positive signal for the party while the BJP differed, saying these did not reflect the national mood.

In the results to 18 assembly seats across four states declared Monday, the Congress bagged at least one seat in each state. The by-elections were held almost three months after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led government came to power in Delhi.

Congress general secretary Shakeel Ahmed said: "It clearly indicates that people vote differently for assembly and Lok Sabha polls. BJP was trying to give the impression that wave created by Narendra Modi on false promises will carry them through in these by-polls but unfortunately for them, people did not vote as they expected."

"The results are a positive signal for the Congress...They indicate good days are not ahead for BJP."

BJP vice president Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi said the results were not entirely to the party's satisfaction but added that the outcome of the by-polls was not a reflection of the national mood.

"The results of by-elections do not reflect the national mood. There are local issues and factors such as popularity of the candidate. The by-polls are not held to form or not form a government," he said.

Naqvi, however, added that the party takes every election seriously and will take remedial steps to improve performance in places it did not do well.

Referring to Bihar, he said three parties had come together against the BJP-led NDA and the JD-U was also the ruling party in the state.

He said the results were not an indication of Congress revival.

In Bihar, the alliance of Rashtriya Janata Dal, Janata Dal-United and Congress won six seats while the BJP could bag four.

Congress wrested the Bhagalpur seat from the BJP after a gap of 23 long years.

In Punjab, Congress won Patiala while Shiromani Akali Dal wrested the Talwandi Sabo seat.

In Karnataka, the ruling Congress Monday won Bellary (ST) seat and retained Chikkodi-Sadalga seat while the BJP was victorious from Shikaripura.

In Madhya Pradesh, BJP won Aagar and Vijayraghavgarh assembly constituencies while the Bahoriband seat went to the Congress.

Voting for the by-polls was held last week.

(Posted on 25-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |