Kanpur, Aug 24 IANS | 2 months ago

Six government medical institutions in Uttar Pradesh are to be converted into super-speciality institutions along the lines of AIIMS, Health Minister Harsh Vardhan said here Sunday.

He said the high disease burden of Uttar Pradesh, which also has the largest population among India's states, has influenced the decision. The upgradation will be done under the Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY).

"I attach high priority to Uttar Pradesh and have been here twice already during my three-month-long tenure so far. As I had been a medical student in Kanpur, I happen to know that the need of the hour is to expand the infrastructure at an fast rate because we have to make up for many years of neglect," Vardhan said.

Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi Memorial (GSVM) Medical College, which is also the alma mater of Vardhan, will be upgraded on a fast-track basis as it is servicing a huge population with no comparable facility anywhere in and around Kanpur.

Sarojini Naidu Medical College, Agra, also has been included in the PMSSY list.

The four other institutions already under the programme are located in Gorakhpur, Allahabad, Meerut and Jhansi.

(Posted on 24-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |