Hyderabad, Aug 24 IANS | 2 months ago

The Congress will contest, on its own, the by-election to Medak parliamentary constituency in Telanagana, party general secretary Digvijaya Singh said Sunday.

The by-election for Medak Lok Sabha seat is scheduled to be held on Sep 13. The seat fell vacant with the resignation of Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao.

Addressing the brainstorming session of Telangana unit of the party, Digivijaya Singh, who is in charge of party affairs in Telangana, asked the cadre to gear up for the elections to Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC). He also asked them to submit their suggestions to strengthen the party in the state.

The two-day session being held at Ibrahimpatnam in neighbouring Ranga Reddy district is analyzing the reasons for party's debacle in assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Telangana.

Digvijaya Singh said the Congress failed to take the United Party Alliance government's achievements to people. He said Congress did the work but failed to do the publicity, which proved to be its weakness.

Congress' Telangana unit chief Ponnala Lakshmaiah claimed that 140 farmers committed suicide since Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) came to power in Telangana. He said it was only Congress which fulfilled its poll promises immediately after forming the government.

Lakshmaiah said it was during Congress rule that electricity generation in the state improved, and Hyderabad got global recognition in the information technology sector. He also noted that it was the Congress-led government approved Information Technology Investment Region (ITIR) for Hyderabad.

(Posted on 24-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |