New Delhi, Aug 22 ANI | 2 months ago

The Ministry of Tourism has today decided to simplify the hotel classification and re-classification procedure by not seeking the licenses and clearances which are issued by various Local, State and Central Government authorities for operation of hotels.

These include the land utilization certificate, building completion certificate, coastal zone regulation clearance, forest and environment clearance, pollution control clearance, police clearance, fire safety clearance, airport authority clearance, health and sanitation clearance.

Henceforth, while applying for classification and re-classification, the hotels would be required to submit only the current and valid Trade license and bar license, if applicable. This was announced by the Minister of Tourism and Culture Shripad Yesso Naik in New Delhi at the National Conference of State Tourism Ministers.

"The step has been taken in consonance with the Prime Minister's directive to cut the red tape. He said the decision would remove unwanted procedure and speed up the classification and re-classification process," said Naik.

In case any unit is found not operating as per the requirements of the acts, rules, regulations or guidelines issued by the Local, State or Central Government Authorities, its classification or reclassification would cease to be operational with immediate effect.

The Ministry would continue to classify or reclassify hotels on the basis of amenities, facilities and services provided by the unit.

Moreover, considering the long standing demand of hotel industry, the Ministry of Tourism has also taken a progressive step for classifying 4 Star, 5 Star hotels in non-Heritage sector and Classic category Hotels in Heritage sector without insisting on the presence of a bar that serves alcohol on the premises.

As per the new guidelines, hotels in the categories of 5 Star and 4 Star in non-Heritage sector and Classic category Hotels in Heritage sector can now be classified as "5 Star with alcohol service", "5 Star without alcohol service", "4 Star with alcohol service", "4 Star without alcohol service", "Classic Heritage with alcohol service" and "Classic Heritage without alcohol service".

This new provision of classification has come into effect immediately.

(Posted on 22-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |