Friday, February 12 2016

Home > News > Sports India News

Double-header at Chennai race track

Posted on Aug 22 2014 | IANS

Chennai, Aug 22 : There will be no dearth of action at the MMRT circuit here this weekend with the third round of the MRF MoGrip-FMSCI National Supercross Championship to be staged alongside Round 4 of the MMSC-FMSCI National Racing Championship.

The National Supercross championship moves south after the first two rounds were held in Nashik and Pune in May. Organised by Godspeed (Pune), the Supercross round will see over 100 riders in action across nine races and is being staged here after a decade.

TVS Racing's K.P. Aravind is leading the overall standings in the exciting SX1 category after a captivating performance in Moto 2 in Pune.

According to a release from the organisers, a six-lane track has been built for the Supercross round with about 22 jumps. There will be one 100ft table top, one step-up jump and one step of woop-de-doos.

The National Racing Championship will feature 13 races. Young Tarun Reddy is leading the championship table in the premier MRF FF1600 single-seater, while Bala Vijay, with five wins in as many races, will look to extend his winning streak in the Superstock category.

The 16-year old Reddy is just six points ahead of Advait Deodhar, but they need to keep an eye on Vikash Anand who ran into form with three consecutive podium finishes in the previous round at Coimbatore.

Arjun Narendran, Feroze Khan and Ajay Kini are leading the championship table in the Indian Touring Cars, Indian Junior Touring Cars and the Formula LGB 1300 categories respectively.

Narendran has had a brilliant start to his Indian Touring Car campaign with four wins out of five races. He will be looking to extend his 34-point advantage with Ashish Ramaswamy leading the chasing pack. Further behind in joint third place are veterans M Sivaramakrishnan and C Rajaram.

Defending IJTC champion Feroze Khan had a weekend to forget in Coimbatore with his lead being cut to just 11 points ahead of VJ Senthil. However, Feroze has looked close to unbeatable at the MMRT and will be looking to stamp his authority this weekend.

The Formula LGB 1300 category has been providing most of the action in the NRC with a three-way battle for the title. Ajay Kini leads with 87 points ahead of Goutam Parekh (69) and S Narendran (67). After a slow start to the championship, Narendran stormed back into contention by winning the last two races.

Latest News: