Montevideo, Aug 22 IANS | 2 months ago

The Uruguayan Football Association (AUF) unveiled the names of the 29 players and subs for upcoming friendlies against Japan and South Korea, excluding Luis Suarez, Diego Lugano and Diego Forlan.

The lineup announced Thursday was assembled by coach Oscar Tabarez, who is about to renew his coaching contract, but will not be able to attend the September friendlies for health reasons, reports Xinhua.

While Suarez was banned for four months from playing with the national team, after he bit a rival at the 2014 Brazil World Cup, he is allowed to play friendlies, according to the Court of Arbitration for Sport, which reviewed the original penalty imposed by world football governing body FIFA.

Other notable absentees from the lineup include defender Lugano, who served as team captain at the past two World Cups, and forward Forlan, nominated the best player of the 2010 South Africa World Cup, as well as midfielder Diego Perez.

The substitutes, meanwhile, include members of the Brazil World Cup lineup, including Fernando Muslera, defenders Diego Godin and Martin Caceres, midfielders Egidio Arevalo Rios and Cristian Rodriguez and forward Edinson Cavani.

Among the players called up for the first time are goalkeeper Martin Campana, defender Mathias Corujo, midfielders Diego Laxalt, Giorgian De Arrascaeta and Camilo Mayada, and forwards Diego Rolan and Jonathan Rodriguez.

Uruguay play Japan in Sapporo Sep 5, and South Korea in Seoul Sep 8.

Goalkeepers: Fernando Muslera, Martin Silva, Rodrigo Munoz, Martin Campana.

Defenders: Diego Godin, Jose Maria Gimenez, Sebastian Coates, Emiliano Velazquez, Martin Caceres, Maximiliano Pereira, Jorge Fucile, Alvaro Pereira, Mathias Corujo, Matias Aguirregaray, Alejandro Silva.

Midfielders: Walter Gargano, Egidio Arevalo Rios, Alvaro Gonzalez, Diego Laxalt, Camilo Mayada, Jorge Rodriguez, Nicolas Lodeiro, Cristian Rodriguez, Giorgian De Arrascaeta.

Forwards: Cristhian Stuani, Diego Rolan, Jonathan Rodriguez, Edinson Cavani, Abel Hernandez.

(Posted on 22-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |