New Delhi, Aug 20 IANS | 2 months ago

Defence Minister Arun Jaitley Wednesday said Chinese patrol guards did come within the Indian boundary, but the Indian Army's "approach" has been sufficient to stop them from encroaching Indian land.

Asked about reports of incursion by Chinese soldiers into Indian territory in Ladakh, the minister said: "The army chief has clarified in detail the reports are not accurate."

He, however, said Chinese patrol did enter the "perceived" Indian boundary.

"There have been cases where Chinese patrols were getting into areas perceived as our territory," Jaitley said on the sidelines of laying the foundation stone for the new Indian Navy headquarters.

Chinese soldiers were not being allowed to encroach upon Indian land and the "approach taken by our forces is enough", he said.

He said Indian forces took "adequate action" and "didn't allow them to encroach on our territory. The approach taken by our forces is enough".

Reports Tuesday said the Chinese troops entered 25-30 km into Indian territory in Burtse area of Ladakh, pitched tents and held up flags that read "This is Chinese territory, go back".

Indian Army chief Gen. Dalbir Singh Suhag Tuesday denied the report.

Jaitley, in response to a question during the recently concluded parliament session, had spoken on the same lines.

"There is no commonly delineated Line of Actual Control (LAC) between India and China. There are areas along the border where India and China have differing perception of the LAC. Due to both sides undertaking patrolling up to their respective perception of the LAC, transgressions do occur," Jaitley had said in a written reply to the Lok Sabha.

The defence minister Wednesday laid the foundation stone for a new headquarters building for the navy here, adjacent to the DRDO headquarters in the vicinity of South Block.

Jaitley also said a plot has been sanctioned for expansion of the army headquarters.

(Posted on 20-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |