kuala Lumpur, Aug 19 IANS | 2 months ago

Malaysian flags will fly at half mast Friday to show respect for those who perished in the MH17 tragedy July 17, media reported.

"The national day of mourning is to express the country's deep sorrow and pay tribute to victims of the tragedy," the Malaysian Star quoted the prime minister's department as saying in a statement.

The department issued a directive calling on all ministries, government departments and agencies to fly the flag at half-mast Friday.

The government announced Aug 22 a national day of mourning for victims of MH17, when the coffins of the Malaysians who were killed in the tragedy would be brought home from the Netherlands.

However, the day would not be declared a public holiday.

The coffins will be transported by a special flight from Amsterdam, and are expected to arrive at the Kuala Lumpur International Airport at 10 a.m for the receiving ceremony at the Bunga Raya Complex, the report said.

Till the date, 26 Malaysian victims have been identified.

Flight MH17, a Boeing 777, was flying from Amsterdam to Kuala Lumpur when it crashed in Ukraine after being hit by a missile near the Russian border July 17, killing all 298 passengers and crew on board.

This is the second major tragedy for Malaysia Airlines this year after flight MH370 with 239 passengers and crew on board went missing while flying from Kuala Lumpur to Beijing March 8.

The flight remains untraced till date despite intense international search efforts.

(Posted on 19-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |