Nairobi, Aug 18 IANS | 2 months ago

Kenya's Commonwealth Games 10,000 metres silver medallist Florence Kiplagat warmed up in style for the 2014 Chicago Marathon slated for Oct 12 with a stunning win at the County Pensions Fund (CPF) Nairobi Diamond 10-km run.

Kiplagat finished the 10-km course in a time of 31:42.0 to win prize money of $3,000 and a diamond with an undeclared value here Sunday, reports Xinhua.

Irene Chebet was placed second in a time of 31:45.0 whereas third place went to Alice Aprot who stopped the clock in 31.46:0.

"I missed competing at the African Championships in Marrakech, Morocco, because of visa problems and I was happy to have a race in Nairobi to do speed work," Kiplagat said during a post-race interview.

"I have been competing in many races and so I have experience that is why I could manage to outpace my rivals in the last 300m," she said.

The 27-year-old Kenyan is the current world record holder of the women's half marathon with a time of 1:05.12 and has represented Kenya in many events from cross country to marathon.

"This will be the first time for me to compete at the Chicago Marathon. I am preparing myself adequately," Kiplagat said.

In the men's event Amos Kiplimo took first position in a time of 27:42.0, followed by Edwin Kiptoo Rop who clocked 27:43.7 while Vincent Yator took third position clocking 27:44.6.

"I had only run two competitive races in my running career and I am treating this competition as a launching pad for my arrival," said the 23-year-old Kiplimo, who also took home the winner's purse and the cut diamond, said.

Race director Barnaba Korir said the idea of the race is to bring the Diamond Runs to Kenya to add to the 14 others across the globe.

"The County Pension Fund, the main sponsor for the event, aims at creating a retirement fund for athletes as a cushion," Korir said of the inaugural meet, which attracted over 1,400 participants.

(Posted on 18-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |