Lucknow, Aug. 17 ANI | 2 months ago

Evading questions about the Saharanpur riots report submitted to UP Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav said today that he had not yet read the report.

Yadav said, "The report will be presented to me in 1-2 hours. I haven't read it yet."

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh had also said earlier today, "It is a report by their political party. I have nothing to say as I haven't even seen the report."

Congress leader Manish Tewari, however, stepped up his criticism of both the Samajwadi party and the Central government.

"Samajwadi Party government's incompetence and BJP's communal politics gave birth to communalism in UP. Central government also wants such a situation where it can take advantage of it. It is the duty of central government to maintain communal harmony. During the UPA rule, there was zero tolerance towards communal riots," Tewari told ANI.

A five-member state committee report was submitted to the Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav earlier today, which sought to probe the reasons for the Saharanpur riots.

The report has blamed the local administration for a lapse in controlling the riots initially. It also mentions BJP MP Raghav Lakhan's name, blaming him for allegedly inciting the violence.

Opposition leaders also panned the report saying that the ultimate accountability lay with the state government.

"UP government may say it's the local administration's fault, but ultimate accountability is of the state government," said Akhilesh Pratap of the Congress party.

BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra also told ANI, "It's an irony that the perpetrators of the Saharanpur riots are trying to be the judge, we reject the report."

(Posted on 17-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |