Kolkata, Aug 17 IANS | 3 months ago

Former Indian soccer captain Dipendu Biswas will be the Trinamool Congress candidate for the Basirhat South assembly seat bypoll scheduled to be held next month, the party announced Sunday.

Biswas, 32, a product of the Tata Football Academy, captained the Indian under-19, under-21 and senior teams during his playing career.

He also turned out for leading club like East Bengal, Mohun Bagan, Mohammedan Sporting and Mahindra United.

The Basirhat South seat fell vacant after the death of incumbent Communist Party of India-Marxist legislator Narayan Mukhopadhyay.

Trinamool Congress national general secretary Mukul Roy also announced that actress Nayana Bandopadhyay will be the party nominee for the Chowringhee assembly by-election.

Nayana, wife of Trinamool Lok Sabha member Sudip Bandopadhyay, was earlier a Trinamool legislator from the Bowbazar constituency.

The resignation of sitting Trinamool legislator Sikha Mitra has rendered the Chowringhee seat vacant. Sikha, wife of Congress leader Somen Mitra, left the Trianmool earlier this year after being a party dissident for long.

The elections to both the constituencies will be held Sep 13 and the votes counted Sep 16.

Another former Indian football team skipper Prasun Banerjee is now the Trinamool MP from Howrah constituency. Indian scocer icon Bhaichung Bhutia, who led the country's senior team for 12 years, lost the Darjeeling Lok Sabha seat on a Trinamool ticket earlier this year.

In the past, Trinamool has successfully fielded actors like Dev, Moon Moon Sen, Sandhya Roy, Tapas Paul and Satabdi Roy. All of them are now Lok Sabha members.

(Posted on 17-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |