Wednesday, February 10 2016

Home > News > India News

Dates announced for Assam by-polls

Posted on Aug 17 2014 | IANS

Guwahati, Aug 16 : Bye-elections in three legislative assembly constituencies in Assam will take place Sep 13, the Election Commission announced Saturday.

Counting of votes will take place Sep 16.

The Silchar assembly constituency fell vacant after Congress legislator Sushmita Dev won from the Silchar Lok Sabha seat.

The Jamunamukh assembly seat fell vacant after All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) legislator Sirajuddin Ajmal won from the Barpeta Lok Sabha seat, while the Lakhipur assembly seat fell vacant after legislator Dinesh Prasad Goala died earlier this year.

The last date of filing nominations is Aug 27. Scrutiny of nominations will take place Aug 28, while Aug 30 is the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

Latest News: