Pyongyang, Aug 14 IANS | 3 months ago

North Korea Thursday fired five short-range projectiles shortly after its committee for reunification called for an end to inter-Korean hostilities and elimination of barriers to reconciliation and unity.

The projectiles were launched from 300 mm-caliber multiple-rocket launchers in the forenoon and shortly after noon, Xinhua quoted Yonhap News Agency as saying.

The projectiles, which flew around 200 km, were believed to be fired from North Korea's eastern Wonsan Area.

Earlier Thursday, North Korea urged South Korea to lift economic sanctions -- imposed May 24 -- and cancel the scheduled military drills with the US, calling for improved inter-Korean relations.

North Korea's Committee for the Peaceful Reunification of the Fatherland (CPRF) said Pyongyang would like to take the opportunity on the occasion of Independence Day Friday to open a new phase in relations between the two Koreas.

Friday will mark the 69th anniversary of Korea's independence from the Japanese colonial rule from 1910 to 1945.

The committee called for an end to hostilities between the two Koreas and urged realistic actions to eliminate barriers to reconciliation, unity and reunification.

The May 24 sanctions were imposed by Seoul in 2010 following the sinking of the South Korean Navy corvette Cheonan near the disputed western sea border. The sanctions ban all inter-Korean exchanges except for the joint factory park in Kaesong, the North Korean border town.

(Posted on 14-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |