New Delhi, Feb 6 IANS | 9 months ago

For collaboration on modern and contemporary art, the union culture ministry Thursday signed an agreement with Tate, an institution that houses Britain's national art collection.

The agreement was signed by the ministry's joint secretary Pramod Jain and Judith Nesbitt, Tate's head of international partnerships.

The two parties agreed to cooperate on institution to institution basis in areas of common interest, including exhibitions, scholarly research, fellowships, collection care, learning programmes and loans, an official statement said.

There will be a commitment to collaborative exchange between museums in both India and Britain across all areas.

"This agreement is part of a series of international collaborations undertaken by the culture ministry which would strengthen the museum sector in the country and lead to a cross pollination of ideas," said ministry secretary Ravindra Singh.

Building on previous collaborations, the agreement provides for a framework for future projects to develop mutual understanding of British and Indian art.

"This agreement will support the reciprocal exchange of ideas and knowledge in the field of modern and contemporary art in India and Britain, allowing deeper engagement with art for audiences in both nations," said Tate director Nicholas Serota.

Tate houses the national collection of British art from 1500 AD to the present day and has over 70,000 artworks of international and national art. Its sites include Tate Britain, Tate Modern, Tate Liverpool and Tate St Ives.

(Posted on 06-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |