Islamabad, Aug 13 IANS | 2 months ago

In a televised address to the nation Tuesday, Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif rejected demands for his resignation and reiterated that his government will complete five-year constitutional term.

Sharif's remarks came at a time when opposition leader Imran Khan was demanding his resignation as he claimed that last year's elections were rigged, Xinhua reported.

The announcement came just one day ahead of the protests planned by Imran Khan and influential cleric Tahirul Qadri.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) had won the parliamentary elections in May last year.

Khan has planned an anti-government march Aug 14 in Islamabad.

He said his supporters will not end protests unless Sharif resigns.

The prime minister also announced formation of a Supreme Court commission to investigate the allegations of rigging in last year's polls.

Sharif requested the Chief Justice of Pakistan to form a three-member bench of judges for this purpose.

"The government will not allow anyone to derail the democratically elected set-up," Sharif said in his address.

Sharif rejected the demand for his ouster and said new elections will be held in 2018.

"I again invite Imran Khan for dialogue. I am an elected person and will listen to the demands of the opponents," he said, adding that he would not surrender to any illegal demands.

The premier also accused some elements of affecting his efforts to revive the economy, resolve the worst energy crisis and deal with terrorism.

(Posted on 13-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |