London, Aug 12 ANI | 1 month ago

Egypt has barred the executive director of Human Rights Watch and another senior staff member from entering the country.

Kenneth Roth and Sarah Leah Whitson were in Cairo to launch a report by the group on mass killings that took place during protests against the ousting of President Mohammed Morsi last year, the BBC reports.

Hundreds of protestors were killed on 14 August 2013 after security forces cracked down on pro-Morsi demonstrators.

The pair was first detained by officials for 12 hours on their arrival at the Cairo International Airport, after which, they were put on planes out of the country.

Whitson, the head of HRW's Middle East and North Africa division, said Egyptian officials told her they were being deported for security reasons, the report said.

HRW, in a statement, said that it was the first time that Egyptian authorities had denied its staff members entry to the country.

The group said its report, due to be released on Tuesday, documents how Egyptian police and army methodically opened fire with live ammunition on crowds of demonstrators following Morsi's ousting.

(Posted on 12-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |