Panaji, Aug 11 IANS | 3 months ago

The top four teams of the inaugural Force Gurkha Rainforest Challenge (RFC) India maintained their positions in the points table on Day 2 here Monday.

Experienced Malaysian driver Mervyn Lim (co-driver Hamizan Bin Abdul Hamid) kept his lead over the pack at the end of the 12 Special Stages (SS) comprising Prologue on an extremely wet day, making conditions perfect for the tasks.

In his factory modified Force Gurkha, Lim, having led the table after the first six SS, has now totalled 955 points, ahead of compatriot Tang Eng Joo (Tan Choon Hong), who also driving a Gurkha, is a close second at 930.

India's Gursahib Singh (Tajinder Pal Singh) from Chandigarh-based Team Gerrari Offroaders was again the top Indian in third position with a total of 867 points as he drove his Maruti Gypsy on the slushy, muddy and rocky terrain of Dona Paula.

Of the six SS Monday, five featured the 4X4 vehicles marauding the difficult natural terrain while one stage tested the competitors' mental and physical skills and speed as it involved changing tyres.

Local man Cedric Jordan da Silva (Floyd Dias) in his Gypsy also isn't far off from the Gerrari Offroader and is playing catch up with 818 points.

However, another Gerrari Offroader Dushyant Khosla (Sachin Verma) leapt two places in the ladder to jump to fifth with 797 points.

The next six SS of the Predator category will be driven in Costi in South Goa.

The RFC drivers have to fight rain, manoeuvre through changing paths, mud, steep slippery slopes, deep ruts, gullies, flooded rivers and landslides in their modified 4X4 All-Terrain Vehicles (ATV).

The lashing rains tend to alter paths and the competitors also have to deal with unpredictable erosions, fallen trees and other unexpected hurdles.

The contestants have to compete in 30 SS which are divided into four sections -- Prologue, Predator, Terminator and Twilight.

(Posted on 11-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |