Gaza, Aug 9 IANS | 3 months ago

Residents of Israeli areas bordering Gaza would not be silent until the completion of an operation that will include neutralising the threat of missiles in Israeli towns, an official said Saturday.

Chaim Yellin, mayor of Eshkol region near the Gaza border, said: "The prime minister and defence minister promised that they would not accept fire on the state of Israel. That is not a political promise, it is a basic requirement of the government for its citizens."

Yellin expressed gratitude for the fact that security in south Israel has increased dramatically since the threat of smuggling tunnels has been suppressed, but said rockets being fired are still worrisome, MENA news agency reported, citing ynet news.

Meanwhile, four Palestinians were killed and 10 others injured Saturday during Israeli airstrikes on the Gaza Strip.

Violence returned to the enclave Friday at the end of a three-day ceasefire between Israel and Palestinian factions.

The Palestinian religious affairs ministry said that at least 63 mosques in Gaza have been destroyed since the beginning of the Israeli offensive on the Gaza Strip July 8.

Since the Israeli military assault started in Gaza, more than 1,900 Palestinians have been killed.

At least 64 Israeli soldiers and three civilians have been killed, according to Israeli figures.

(Posted on 10-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |