Nay Pyi Taw, Aug 8 IANS | 1 year ago

Foreign ministers of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) gathered in Myanmar capital, Nay Pyi Taw, for the meeting due to begin Friday.

Marking the 47th ASEAN Day, Myanmar President U Thein Sein will deliver a keynote address on the occasion, Xinhua reported.

The annual ASEAN foreign ministers meeting at the Myanmar convention center will discuss security and developmental issues that have significant impact on the region, said a press release of the bloc.

As the ASEAN Chair for 2014, Myanmar Foreign Minister U Wunna Maung Lwin will preside over the meeting.

ASEAN comprises 10 member countries -- Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

(Posted on 08-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries