Shimla, Aug 6 IANS | 3 months ago

The BJP Wednesday staged a walkout in the state assembly on first day of its 24-day monsoon session, demanding resignation of the chief minister over the Congress debacle in the state in the Lok Sabha elections.

Immediately after the obituary references for six former members who died ealier, Bharatiya Janata Party member Suresh Bhardwaj asked Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh to quit as his party had lost mandate in the Lok Sabha elections.

"The BJP got mandate in 59 out of the 68 assembly segments in the Lok Sabha elections. Even the chief minister didn't get lead in his home (assembly) constituency. His wife also lost the (parliamentary) election," Bhardwaj said.

When Speaker B.B.L. Butail didn't allow the issue to be raised, saying that no notice for it had been given, the BJP members started raising slogans.

As the speaker proceeded with the business listed for the day, the BJP lawmakers staged a walkout from the house.

Condemning the walkout, Health Minister Kaul Singh said the opposition was making hue and cry over the issue. "The people have given us the mandate (in the 2012 assembly elections). The Lok Sabha elections are held on national issues and have nothing to do with the state affairs," he said.

"The walkout is uncalled for, unfortunate and unwanted," he added.

As the house assembled in the morning, the speaker requested the members to allow the house to run smoothly as the last session saw maximum disruptions.

(Posted on 06-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |