New Delhi, Aug 5 IANS | 3 months ago

Elections for the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) will be held on Sep 12, said a varsity official Tuesday.

"Sep 3 is the last date for filing of nomination papers," DU Registrar Alka Sharma said in a statement.

The varsity said that it will notify the date of result declaration later.

The university has already appointed a team of officials for facilitating conduct of upcoming elections.

D.S. Rawat of chemistry department has been appointed as the chief election officer, Chander Shekhar of the Persian department as chief returning officer and OSD, Examinations Satish Kumar as the returning officer.

A representative body of the students, DUSU is an umbrella council, while each college also has its own students union for which elections are held separately.

Last year, the DUSU polls were swept by RSS' student wing Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP).

Aman Awana and Utkarsh Chaudhary were elected as president and vice-president and Raju Rawat was elected as the joint secretary.

The Congress' student wing, the National Students' Union of India (NSUI) managed to win only one seat with Karishma Thakur being elected as the secretary.

(Posted on 06-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |