Warsaw, Aug 5 IANS | 3 months ago

Three Polish mathematicians have been honoured with coveted Milestone Award by a world engineers organisation Tuesday for their crucial work that ended World War II.

Marian Rejewski, Jerzy Rozycki and Henryk Zygalski were awarded for breaking the codes of the German Enigma cipher machine in 1932, Xinhua reported.

During the ceremony at the Warsaw University of Technology, Roberto de Marca, president of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), emphasised that it was a milestone which contributed to ending the World War II and saving people's lives.

The three late mathematicians were employed in 1930 in the Cipher Bureau of the Polish Army to work out the secret operation of electro-mechanical German Enigma cipher machine.

They managed to read the first information in 1932.

In 1939, Polish military authorities sent the copies of Enigma machine along with the information about the broken code to France and Great Britain.

According to many historians, this disclosure enabled the Allies forces to tackle their enemies more effectively.

IEEE is the world's largest association of professional technicians, engineers and scientists in the area of electrical engineering and electronics.

Milestone Award honours the academic achievements significantly changing the world.

The honours were given, among others, to Thomas Edison, Alexander Graham Bell and Nikola Tesla.

(Posted on 05-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |