New Delhi, Aug 5 IANS | 3 months ago

The construction of Delhi Metro's two underground parallel tunnels was completed here Tuesday, a statement said.

The drilling of one of the tunnels began in December 2013 and the other in January this year using two tunnel boring machines (TBM) named "Riddhi" and "Siddhi", the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) said.

"The two TBM's emerged at the Dabri Mor station after boring 1.2 km-long twin tunnels which have been constructed at a depth of 16.5 metres and have an internal diameter of 5.8 metres. These are the first tunnels to be completed on this corridor," the DMRC said.

"This is the first occasion when twin tunnels have been completed together in any metro project in the country," it added.

According to DMRC, the construction was a "major engineering challenge" as the tunnels passed underneath thickly populated residential and commercial areas and needed "extensive geotechnical instrumentation and monitoring".

The tunnels are part of the 36-km-long Janakpuri West - Botanical Garden corridor under phase three which is expected to be operational by 2016.

As part of its third phase of expansion, DMRC is slated to construct about 53 km of underground lines for which 35 TBMs are to be used.

At present, about 28 TBMs are engaged in tunnelling works in different parts of Delhi as compared to 14 TBMs used in phase two.

(Posted on 05-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |