New Delhi, Aug 4 IANS | 3 months ago

Parliament Monday witnessed an uproar over a derogatory article mentioning Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa on Sri Lanka's defence ministry website. The government said the Sri Lankan high commissioner will be summoned over the issue.

The objectionable article about J. Jayalalithaa's letters to Modi was published on Sri Lanka's defence ministry website last week, and was taken down in a hurry.

Sri Lanka also offered "unqualified apology" over the article.

The issue, however, rocked parliament Monday, with both houses witnessing adjournments.

The Rajya Sabha saw two adjournments during the question hour, and AIADMK members trooped near the chairman's podium to protest.

An irked Chairman M. Hamid Ansari commented: "Ten members are holding the house to ransom... this is unbecoming of members of parliament."

When the house reassembled at noon, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj said the government "condemned" the development.

"The government has strongly condemned the development," Sushma Swaraj said in the Rajya Sabha.

"We will certainly summon the high commissioner of Sri Lanka and convey this to him," the minister said.

In the Lok Sabha, as soon after the house met for the day, the members disrupted the proceedings.

AIADMK leader M. Thambidurai attacked the government for not yet condemning the article.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu intervened and said the government "condemned" the article.

However, AIADMK members continued their agitation and trooped near the speaker's podium, raising slogans.

The lower house was first adjourned till 12.30 p.m., and then till 2 p.m.

When the Lok Sabha reassembled, Sushma Swaraj made a statement similar to that made in the Rajya Sabha, and reiterated that the Sri Lankan high commissioner will be summoned.

(Posted on 04-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |