Madrid, Aug 3 IANS | 3 months ago

The Spanish Football League (LFP) has told Real Murcia that the club "does not fulfil the conditions" to be inscribed into the Spanish Second Division (Liga Adelante) and that the club will be relegated to the third tier of the domestic leagues.

The news Saturday was a massive blow for the club which last season played in the play-offs in order to try and gain promotion to the BBVA Primera Liga, reports Xinhua.

But an outstanding tax bill of over 10 million euros (around $14 million) led the LFP to issue a communique which states: "Having examined the documents presented by Real Murcia, which have been revised by our technical services, we have appreciated the entity has failed to fulfil the requirements which are demanded for it to be inscribed in the League."

Murcia will have their place in the Liga Adelante taken by Mirandes, who were relegated at the end of last season after finishing fourth from bottom of the table, although the club from the town of Miranda del Ebro in northern Spain will have to work overtime in order to strengthen its squad for a season which kicks off in three weeks.

Murcia may not be the only club to be relegated as the result of financial issues and Racing Santander could join them in the Segunda B in five days if the LFP are not satisfied with the "additional financial-economic information".

Racing owe around six million euros in tax revenue and if they too are relegated their place in the Liga Adelante will be taken by Real Madrid's B team - Real Madrid Castilla. Given Real Madrid's enormous influence over the Spanish game, that must be worrying for Racing fans.

(Posted on 03-08-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |