Algiers, July 31 IANS | 3 months ago

Algerian officials Thursday declared their country's solidarity with the distressed population in the Gaza Strip by observing a minute of silence, a symbolic gesture of support for Palestinians as Israel continues to pummel the embattled coastal enclave.

Officials Wednesday announced that a minute of silence, as well as a short five-minute pause from work, would be observed midday Thursday in all public and private Algerian institutions in remembrance of the Gazan victims of Israeli airstrikes and in solidarity with the Palestinian people.

State-run television broadcast live pictures from government offices as Prime Minister Abdelmalek Sellal and his cabinet stood in remembrance for five minutes, Xinhua reported.

Trade Unions and human right activists in different parts of the nation also staged sit-ins in public squares, as they chanted slogans denouncing Israel's aggressive campaign against Gaza, urging world powers to do more to prevent the killing of Palestinian children.

President Abdelaziz Bouteflika pledged to send an aid package worth around $25 million to Gaza.

The enclave, ruled by the militant Islamist Hamas movement, has been under fire of Israel Defence Forces (IDF) since July 8. Israel's ensuing air and ground campaign has claimed more than 1,300 Palestinian lives, the majority of whom were civilians, including children, women, the elderly, and the disabled.

The Israeli military offensive on the Gaza Strip, which was launched July 8 amid rocket attacks on Israel by Palestinian militants, has also claimed the lives of 56 Israelis, including 53 soldiers.

(Posted on 31-07-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |