New Delhi, July 30 IANS | 2 months ago

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan Wednesday said she would take a decision on the Leader of Opposition issue within four days.

"I will see all the rules and also the letter of attorney general. I have to see what's there and what is not," she told media persons here.

Mahajan added: "The speaker cannot do anything...I have to go by the rules. Within one to four days, I'm expecting a decision on this."

She pointed out instances when there was no Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha.

In a setback to the Congress's desire to have its leader in the Lok Sabha given the Leader of Opposition status, Attorney General Mukul Rohatgi has held that the party cannot get the recognition as rules require that the party should have at least one-tenth of the total strength of parliament's lower house.

Rohatgi, in his opinion to Mahajan, said that Mallikarjun Kharge, the Congress leader in the house, cannot be recognised as Leader of Opposition as the party's strength was only 44 while one-tenth of the total strength of the house is 55.

(Posted on 30-07-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |