Kolkata, July 27 IANS | 1 year ago

The rising influence of Trinamool Congress in the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) was evident Sunday during its 83rd annual general meeting where a number of ruling party leaders and state ministers made their presence felt.

On a day when former India captain Sourav Ganguly was unanimously appointed as CAB's joint secretary, frontline Trinamool leaders of the likes of Panchayat Minister Subrata Mukherjee, Youth Services Minister Arup Biswas, and Agriculture Marketing Minister Arup Roy, among others, attended the AGM.

Representing various CAB-affiliated clubs at the meeting, the Trinamool leaders expressed their dissatisfaction over the way CAB president Jagmohan Dalmiya himself proposed his name for the post.

"Several Trinamool leaders raised objection to Dalmiya himself proposing his name saying it was against electoral conventions and the constitution of the country. But the matter was settled amicably," Subrata Dutta, who represented the George Telegraph club, later told media persons.

Dalmiya rubbished claims of any irregularity, asserting that the elections were conducted adhering strictly to the rules and regulations.

The veteran sports administrator, however, refused to comment on several of the Trinamool leaders, including Mukherjee and MPs Srinjoy Bose and Subrata Bakshi, being inducted into the working committee.

"It's a democracy, anybody is free to join," was his response to media queries about the Trinamool's rising influence in the CAB.

Besides welcoming Ganguly's foray into sports administration, the Trinamool leaders asserted that the presence of politicians would play a big role in securing endorsements for cricket in Bengal.

"Our chief minister (Mamata Banerjee) is known for her enthusiasm for sports, especially cricket. As elected representatives it is our duty to endeavour for all-round development of the society and sports surely is an integral part of that," said Food Minister Jyotipriyo Mullick, who represented Calcutta University Institute.

(Posted on 27-07-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries