New Delhi, July 26 ANI | 3 months ago

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Nalin Kohli today said the Congress cannot demand the post of Leader of Opposition on the basis of entitlement as they do not have the required number of seats in the Lok Sabha.

"The Congress Party doesn't have the required strength to claim the post of Leader of Opposition, and they cannot demand it on the basis of entitlement. The Speaker will give her decision on it soon," said Kohli.

BJP leader Siddharth Nath Singh shared a similar point of view and stated that what the Congress was demanding is wrong.

The Speaker gave a ruling that LoP should have 10% or 55 seats, and the Congress doesn't have it. What Congress is demanding is wrong," said Singh.

Earlier today, Congress leader Manish Tewari on Saturday said that the Congress being the second largest political party is entitled to hold the position of Leader of opposition.

Tewari told ANI, "The congress being the second largest party is entitled to hold the position of LoP even if you keep in mind the evolving jurisprudence of Parliamentary traditions and conventions."

Congress leader Abhishek Manu Singhvi also told ANI, "I am not at all surprised. I think the AG has barely repeated not only the government's stand but has said what the government wants to hear."

The tussle between the government and the Congress on the issue of Leader of the Opposition in the lower house of parliament has been going on ever since the 16th Lok Sabha came into its existence, with the Congress pushing its case for the post on grounds that it has the most seats (44) in the opposition.

Currently, the leader of the opposition is equivalent to the rank of a cabinet minister. The leader of opposition also has an important role to play in several key government appointments, such as Chief Vigilance Commissioner.

(Posted on 26-07-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |